Jan 14, 2013

Lex Albrecht Riding for NOW-Novartis Professional Cycling Team 2013

I am proud to announce that I will be racing for NOW-Novartis Professional Road Cycling Team in 2013.  Here is some more information on the team, including the official press release:

In 2011 Phil Keoghan, (Host and a Producer) of “The Amazing Race” on CBS, and co-founder with partner Louise Keoghan of No Opportunity Wasted (NOW), teamed up with Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation to create the first-of-its-kind pro cycling team, NOW and Novartis for MS. “Our world class riders are not only out there winning the countries’ top cycling events but they are using that energy to help create awareness for those living with MS” said Keoghan.

The NOW and Novartis for MS Women's team has announced its 2013 roster, led by 2013 standout Alison Powers (Pinecliffe, CO) and 2011 National Champion Robin Farina (Charlotte, NC). The team, which had 28 victories and more than 70 podium finishes in 2012, has added a mix of talent for a 10-rider roster.

The team will continue under the direction of Kurt Stockton, 1990 US Professional Road Champion. “Our 2012 team results and performance exceeded my expectations,” said Stockton. “One of my main goals for the team was to build a program where motivated athletes can flourish and reach new levels of performance. This was integral to our success in 2012 and will continue to be a main focus of our 2013 program.”

Joining Powers, who had 13 victories in 2012, and Team Captain Farina are three returning riders. Olivia Dillon (Fairfax, CA), the 2012 Irish National Time Trail Champion; original team member Devon Gorry (Logan, UT), winner of the 2012 Lake Bluff Criterium; and triple Pan Am Championships medalist Beth Newell (Oakland, CA).

New for 2013 are climbing talents Katie Donovan (Oxnard, CA), a former Tour of the Gila ‘Gila Monster’ stage winner, and Lex Albrecht (Québec, Canada), 2012 Cascade Classic QOM and Young Rider winner. Also joining the team are multi-time Junior National Road and Criterium Champion Alexis Ryan (Ventura, CA), who will ride her first season as a U23, and Maura Kinsella (Santa Clara, CA), a multi-time, top-three finisher in the U23 National Time Trial, Road Race and Criterium. Rounding out the roster is Lauren Rauck Komanski (Winston-Salem, NC), a former D1 runner at Columbia who took several regional wins in 2012 and is coached by Farina.

What makes the NOW and Novartis for MS team unique is that the riders not only race their bikes at the highest level but also are paired on tandem bikes with people living with Multiple Sclerosis at select high-profile charitable Bike MS events around the country. The goal is to show the world that MS does not define those living with the disease.
“Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation shares our passion in the battle against this disease and we are lucky to have them as our title sponsor again in 2013,” said Keoghan.

For more information on NOW and Novartis for MS, visit TogetherinMS.com.

1 comment:

  1. Congratulations to you for being part of such a great team and, congratulations to the team for having signed such a great member!